Staff Given Special Recognition

11 September, 2008


In his occasional address Peter Turner thanked all involved for the Awards Presentations and congratulated the recipients for their dedication to their special vocation. He also made special mention of those who had nominated their colleagues, emphasising that “those who have been behind nominating their colleagues have made the effort to see beyond the immediate and have been worthy advocates for others in your schools.” He went on to publicly thank Tony Sanderson and the CDF for their very generous sponsorship of the Awards and gave thanks to Bishop Peter Ingham for his generous time and interest in Catholic schooling. Special Thanks was made to musicians at the liturgy: Michelle Bunder, St John’s Campbelltown; Robert Muscatello, Mt Carmel High School/CEO and Mark Raue, CEO. The full list of awardees is:

In the Area of Teaching Primary Affirmation

Patricia Burrows – St Francis of Assisi, Warrawong

Donna Maddocks – Ss Peter & Paul, Kiama

Kim Reilly – St Paul’s, Camden


Tracy Whalan – St Paul’s, Albion Park

In the Area of Teaching Secondary Affirmation

Anne Kearney – St Patrick’s College, Campbelltown

Elena Koot – St Mary’s College, Wollongong

Kim Stutchbury – St Joseph’s CHS, Albion Park

John Tannous – Magdalene CHS, Narellan


Terese Coleman – St Mary’s College, Wollongong

In the Area of Teaching Early Career Affirmation

Annalise Hart – St Paul’s, Albion Park

Stephanie Phillips – Mt Carmel CHS, Varroville

Kylie Sharman – St John’s CHS, Nowra

Norina Todhunter – St Mary’s College, Wollongong

Peta Willard – Mt Carmel CHS, Varroville


Natalie Ryan – Holy Spirit College, Bellambi

In the Area of Pastoral Care Affirmation

Jenny Irving – St John’s, Campbelltown

Katrina West – St Thomas More, Ruse.


Samantha Giles – Mt Carmel CHS, Varroville

In the Area of School Support Affirmation

Shauna Broad – St Thomas Aquinas, Bowral

Anna Daly – St Mary’s College, Wollongong

Catherine Davies – Ss Peter & Paul, Kiama

Kerrin Henry – Mary Immaculate, Eaglevale

Mary Kampen – Holy Spirit College, Bellambi

Catherine Miller – St Paul’s, Albion Park


Helen James – Catholic Education Office

In the Area of Social Justice Advocacy Excellence

Leonie Flynn – St Patrick’s College, Campbelltown

Jane Pitt – St Joseph’s CHS, Albion Park

In the Area of Leadership Affirmation

Greg Elliott – St Mary’s College, Wollongong

Ken Griffin – Holy Spirit College, Bellambi

Gavan Hoctor – St Francis of Assisi, Warrawong

Philip McIntosh – Mt Carmel CHS, Varroville

Peter Michael – St Paul’s, Camden

Lynda Timpano – St Joseph’s CHS, Albion Park


Fay Gurr – St Mary’s College, Wollongong