Year 12 leaders shine at Bishop's Student Excellence Awards

News | Year 12 leaders shine at Bishop's Student Excellence Awards

Posted 22 November 2017 by Catholic Education in News

The best and brightest of our Diocese's Catholic students have today been awarded the Bishop's Student Excellence Awards. Students and their families, principals and other CEDoW staff gathered together with Bishop Peter Ingham and Director of Schools, Peter Turner, to celebrate the outstanding achievements of these young men and women.

The Bishop's Student Excellence Awards are awarded to one student from each of the Diocese's Catholic systemic secondary schools, who exemplifies the best of Catholic education in a young adult about to graduate from school.

Nominated by each school's principal, these awards seek to recognise the religious, academic and community-based achievement of Year 12 students across the Diocese of Wollongong. They also reflect the cumulative contribution of Catholic school staff over the years in support of the individual efforts of the students themselves.

Director of Schools, Peter Turner, addressed the successful students directly, expressing the immense pride he had in them and their achievements: "This is a gathering full of joy and hope as you are leaders of today and, most importantly, of the future. To share this moment with you, students and your families, is a real privilege.

"It is most encouraging to observe the support that the students have received from their families, with many mums and dads, carers, brothers and sisters, grandparents, and other family members, present to share this special experience with them. I acknowledge the love, nurture and support you have given to your precious child over their school years."

Award Recipients

The Year 12 recipients of the Bishop's Student Excellence Awards for 2017 are:

Sarah Hilton St Joseph's Catholic High School, Albion Park
Madeleine Gallinar Corpus Christi Catholic High School, Oak Flats
Sarah O'Donoghue Holy Spirit College, Bellambi
Maddison Evans St Benedict's Catholic College, Oran Park
Bailey Whitley Magdalene Catholic High School, Narellan
Patrick Butler St John the Evangelist Catholic High School, Nowra
Varsha Biju John Therry Catholic High School, Rosemeadow
Georgia Sirec Mount Carmel Catholic College, Varroville

The Awards Program is a Diocesan-wide celebration of the personal and community achievements of young people graduating from our Catholic schools. 

"The mission of our Catholic schools is to create vibrant Catholic schools where each young person finds meaning and purpose in life, through growth in faith and improvement in learning. My hope is that the graduates of our Catholic schools become agents of change and good works in the world [and] do whatever they can to make our world a better place," Director of Schools, Peter Turner said.

He wished the award recipients well for the next stage of their life and well into the future: "You have embraced the opportunities provided to you through the gift of a Catholic education. You have already had experiences to embrace those who are at the margins and in need and you have developed a strong sense of social justice and fairness. I pray that you will carry these with you throughout your lives.

"As beneficiaries of your education, you have grown and developed values, attitudes, skills and knowledge that can serve you well. In particular, remain focused on those values centred on the person of Jesus Christ and know that authentic leadership is found in the service of others," he said.


View more information on the Bishop's Student Excellence Awards here.


View all stories in News. View All News and Events.