Bishop's Student Excellence Awards

The Bishop's Student Excellence Awards seek to recognise the religious, academic and community-based achievement of Year 12 students across the Diocese of Wollongong. The award acknowledges the contribution of one Year 12 student from each Catholic secondary school towards their school, parish and local community, as nominated by their principal. 

These annual awards are a special acknowledgement presented by (or on behalf of) the Bishop of Wollongong to a student from each of the Catholic systemic secondary schools, and participating congregational schools, in the Diocese. The award is nominated by the school principal and is for the student who exemplifies the best of Catholic education in a young adult about to graduate from school.

The Bishop's Student Excellence Awards are a Diocesan-wide celebration of the personal and community achievements of young people graduating from our Catholic schools, and reflects the cumulative contribution of Catholic school staff over the years in support of the individual efforts of the students themselves.

Director of Schools, Mr Peter Turner said, “This award aims to acknowledge the wonderful contributions of students from our Diocese who are proclaiming the mission of Jesus Christ, exemplifying the positive influence of a Catholic education. Our deepest hope for graduates of Catholic schools was that they become change agents in the world. Catholic schools exist to give saints to the world…we are asking our students to do whatever they can to make the world a better place.”

Each award consists of a framed certificate and a book specially selected by the Bishop of Wollongong. 


LTW Awards Honour Roll v7





St Joseph's Catholic High School, Albion Park

Brooke Smith

Lleyton Callaway

Sarah Hilton

Corpus Christi Catholic High School, Oak Flats

Ava Riddell

Isabelle Tannous

Madeleine Gallinar

Holy Spirit College, Bellambi

Ellen Vera

Declan Cleary

Sarah O'Donoghue

St Benedict's Catholic College, Oran Park

Claude Abdallah

Mikayla Gauci

Maddison Evans

Magdalene Catholic High School, Narellan

Lauren Dady

Sarah Vella

Bailey Whitley

St John the Evangelist Catholic High School, Nowra

Lachlan Kaszonyi

Eleanor Petricevic

Patrick Butler

John Therry Catholic High School, Rosemeadow

Larissa Koura

Jeswin Jo Joseph

Varsha Biju

Mount Carmel Catholic College, Varroville

Britney Ruiz Manns

Lachlan Walsh

Georgia Sirec

  Read more here

Read more here

Read more here

nomination Process

One Bishop's Student Excellence Award is nominated by each school's principal for a Year 12 student at their school who exemplifies the best of Catholic education in a young adult about to graduate from school.

Currently, all secondary schools have an established process to discern student achievements in order to present school-based awards across a range of categories to Year 12 students as part of their graduation ceremonies each year. In general, schools already present one graduating student with a special award, usually the school’s most ‘prestigious’ award, for their overall contribution to the school and the wider community including their parish/church, sometimes referred to as a Principal’s Award, Founder’s Award or something similar.

To prevent duplication, the process for the Bishop’s Excellence Award will be that each principal will nominate the student who has received their own school’s overarching award for service and achievement in Year 12. The essential award criterion is the demonstration of significant achievement through notable contributions to his/her school, parish and broader community, evidenced by their personal effort, witness and continued good works. Each school will be supported through the process of nomination by a representative of the CEDoW Awards and Recognition Organising Committee.

Conferral of the Bishop’s Student Excellence AwardS

In 2019, the Bishop's Student Excellence Awards Ceremony will be held on Wednesday, 13 November 2019 at Villa D'Oro, Wollongong. 

The Bishop’s Student Excellence Awards are conferred at a special event in Term 4 each year, and will be presented by (or on behalf of) the Bishop of Wollongong.

As an official and esteemed event in the annual Diocesan calendar, these awards are conferred at an afternoon ceremony at a formal venue, attended by the recipients, invited family members and school staff, as well as the principals and senior CEO personnel.

The timing of the event will take into account dates for the HSC Examinations. Principals will be asked to assist with the invitation process by encouraging the award recipient from their school to make arrangements to be available to attend in person on the date of the award event. Principals will also be asked to assist with obtaining image release consents and communicating with the student’s parents about the award. An official invitation is sent to all recipients in October.


Return to our Awards and Recognition Program portal