Sport News | 21st Annual CDF Diocesan Sports Awards 2017

Posted 20 November 2017 by Catholic Education in Sport News


On Friday 17 November the Diocesan Sports Council staged the 21st Annual CDF Sports Awards to recognise the outstanding achievements of students from primary and secondary schools across the Diocese.

The evening proudly supported by the Catholic Development Fund attracted over 500 guests to St Mary Star of the Sea College, Wollongong.

It was a fitting culmination to a busy sporting year and certainly a positive advertisement for the pathways and structures now available to our students and teachers.

Bishop Peter attend the evening, along with our Director of schools Peter Turner, Trevor Kellam from the Catholic Development Fund, many Catholic Education Office team leaders, Principals, school sports coordinators and staff were present.

Over 150 students, 6 teams and 1 teacher were presented on the night, with the most outstanding awards going to the following:

Father Ward Trophy Most Outstanding Girl Primary Sport 

Tayissa Buchanan - St Paul's, Albion Park

John Gamble Trophy Most Outstanding Boy Primary Sport

Joshua Dent - St Joseph's, Bulli

2017 Para Athlete of the year

Luke Small - Magdalene, Narellan

Terry White Trophy Most Outstanding Secondary Sportswoman

Amy Sligar - St Patrick's, Campbelltown

Bishop Ingham Trophy most Outstanding Secondary Sportsman

Jordan Doris - Mt Carmel, Varroville


Tor Preece - Corpus Christi, Oak Flats

 Vince Villa Trophy for Champion Secondary School Across All Sports in 2017 - Girls

St Mary Star of the Sea, Wollongong

Vince Villa Trophy for Champion Secondary School Across All Sports in 2017 - Boys

Edmund Rice, West Wollongong

Overall Champion Secondary School Across All Sports in 2017 

Holy Spirit, Bellambi

Australian triathlete and former John Therry Catholic High, Rosemeadow student Natalie Van Coevorden was the guest speaker on the evening. Natalie, a regular winner at the CDF sports awards including the most outstanding female athlete in 2010 winner was interviewed by Scott Ashcroft and spoke of her early years in school sport and her experiences as part of the world triathlon series. Natalie provided some strong messages to our athletes and parents showing the importance of setting goals, persistence and working hard.

The Vince Villa Trophy was awarded to the champion secondary schools across all sports in 2017 with St Mary Star of the Sea College, Wollongong winning the girls trophy, Edmund Rice College, West Wollongong winning the boys trophy and for the eleventh year running, Holy Spirit College, Bellambi winning the overall champion secondary school across all sports.

PICTURED: CDF Sports Awards major award winners with special guests

Back Row – Trevor Kellam, John Gamble, Bishop Ingham, Peter Turner, Natalie Van Coevorden, John Sparks

Front Row – Jordan Doris (Mt Carmel), Amy Sligar (St Patrick’s), Luke Small (Magdalene), Joshua Dent (St Joseph’s), Tayissa Buchanan (St Paul’s)


View all stories in Sport News. View All News and Events.