Sport News | The 20th Annual CDF Sports Awards

Posted 6 December 2016 by Catholic Education in Sport News

On Friday 18 November the Diocesan Sports Council staged the 20th Annual CDF Sports Awards to recognise the outstanding achievements of students from primary and secondary schools across the Diocese. The evening proudly sponsored by the Catholic Development Fund attracted over 450 guests to St Mary Star of the Sea College, Wollongong. It was a fitting culmination to a busy sporting year and certainly a positive advertisement for the pathways and structures now available to our students and teachers.

Bishop Peter attended the evening, along with our Director of schools Peter Turner, Tony Sanderson from the Catholic Development Fund, many Catholic Education Office team leaders, Principals, school sports coordinators and staff.

Rugby 7's Rio gold medalist and former St John Vianney's, Fairy Meadow and Holy Spirit College, Bellambi student Emma Tonegato was the guest speaker on the evening. Emma was interviewed by Dean Merola and spoke of her early years in school sport, her rise from her elite touch football days to the rugby league and rugby union arena, and her Rio Olympic games experience. Emma shared some strong  messages to our athletes and parents highlighting the importance of setting goals, hard work and commitment.

Over 150 students, 4 teams and 1 teacher were presented on the night with the outstanding achievement awards:

Father Ward Trophy Most Outstanding Girl Primary Sport 

Ella Fielding, St Paul's, Camden

John Gamble Trophy Most Outstanding Boy Primary Sport

Joshua Dent, St Joseph's, Bulli

2016 Para Athlete of the year

Luke Small, St Thomas More Ruse

Terry White Trophy Most Outstanding Secondary Sportswoman

Courtney Schonell, St Benedict's, Oran Park

Bishop Ingham Trophy most Outstanding Secondary Sportsman

Jordan Doris, Mt Carmel Catholic College, Varroville


Michelle Masterson, Nazareth Shellharbour City

 Vince Villa Trophy for Champion Secondary School Across All Sports in 2016 - Girls

Joint Winners: St Mary's College Wollongong and Holy Spirit College Bellambi

Vince Villa Trophy for Champion Secondary School Across All Sports in 2016 - Boys

Edmund Rice College

Overall Champion Secondary School Across All Sports in 2016 

For the tenth consecutive year ...... Holy Spirit College


View all stories in Sport News. View All News and Events.